Monday, March 30, 2009

Tiny Tongue Two AM

I have always been in a constant battle. I am in battle against nature, my true self, my beliefs, my heart my head. I have always been overly sensitive, but I try to fight that with logic. Sometimes it does not keep my heart from aching , but outwardly I am cool, collect and a presentable lady. ( haha who am i joking)
Thats that.
if anyone reads this, please pray , send good vibes , think or meditate for my family. Two people closest to my heart are going through some heard times right now, and my spirit is with them in everything they go through. I wish I could do it for them, be in their place.

People ask me frequently , what I eat. Like its impossible. Like it is a chore. It is not a chore to be a vegan. I woke up today and ate a bowl of cereal with soy milk. I drank orange juice.

For lupper...hhaha I had a sandwich with crackers and red pepper hummus. Kroger is having a ten for ten dollars on hummus and red pepper hummus is my absolute favorite . It looks just like cheese!
the sammich has red, yellow,green peppers, onions, fake ground beef, mushrooms in it. it was all sauteed with a bit of italian dressing i added salt , pepper, red pepper, parika, to give it that fajita taste and then put tofuiiti sour cream in the pita . yum. :)
so go make it...
it's lovely.

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Decisions!

I have decided that though I am a poor vegan, I am alot of other things. And though I am still going to post great recipe's and resources for a great green life, I would also like to use this blog...well...as my blog. So for future posts not everything will be about being vegan though alot of it will since it is a part of my life.

So here it goes...
My name is Haley, I live in the belly of the beast , also known as hot and humid Atlanta, Georgia. I am having a hard time with this already...
well...i am just so scattered...goodnight .

Thursday, March 5, 2009

What you NEED TO FEED!

I am going to list everything that you need to have a great diet.
There will be a *, next to the things you can't live without! :)
I have decided at the bottom of all my posts will be new vegan resources that will range from animal rights to cute vegan clothes!

Grocery List!
Not really solids, some are whatevs…

Nutritional Yeast
Extra- Firm Tofu*
Apple Cider Vinegar
Balsamic Vinegar*
Italian Dressing*
Olive Oil*
Soy Sauce*
Spicy Mustard*
Vegannaise ( Vegan Mayo)*
Peanut Butter*
FAUX BUTTER *
Rice Milk/Soy Milk*
Soy Cheese*
Faux Meat ( ground beef)*
Tofurky*

Veggies and Fruits yay!
Artichoke hearts
Peas ( any and every type)*
Red, Yellow, Green Peppers*
Garlic
Beans ( every type)*
Onion*
Potatoes*
Asparagus******
Mushrooms*
Spinach
All Fruits you can afford…haha

If you can Afford Nuts, buy them.

Noodles (the kind you like)*

Grains and Rice – brown rice and couscous.*

Canned Goods are not awesome, but they are cheap, and these are some you need…
Black beans ( other various beans you may want) and Tomato paste.

Spices:
I am poor so I love Lady Dash.
I would buy all the Lady Dash and salt and pepper…no lie.

p.s.
Desserts
Trader Joe’s has a DAMN good Soy Ice cream.
There is plenty of Vegan desserts in your organic isle.
Tofutti is my love when it comes to all substitutions for dairy products.

So that’s it in a nutshell. I will post more food later that is good for substitution.

Also when you want to get super poor when it comes to buying these products the BEST place to go is….
YOUR FARMERS MARKET!!! It is better to buy Local anyway!

And you wanna know a dirty cheap secret on how to get your favorite products for cheap!?

Go to a Kroger in a more poverty stricken side of your town. I know this sounds horrible, but people ...YEAH YOU! CANNOT AFFORD some of the organic and dairy free products. So when the yuppie rich folk are not present to buy your precious food it goes on “Manager’s Sale” ( only at Kroger). I have gotten many of my favorite items for usually less than a dollar! Seriously.



Here are some great web sites now that you have written down all the things you are going to get your next shopping trip ☺

http://www.herbivoreclothing.com/ (love buy me stuff)

http://www.alternativeoutfitters.com

http://www.hfa.org/

http://www.vegan.org/


Thank you so much for your strength to be loving and kind.

Hal

Good Things to Look At :)

Hello Everyone,
Today I helped briefly, on my college campus, to spread awareness about animal cruelty, veg living, recipes, and even a spiritual side of being a vegetarian/vegan. I really want to spread the good new this group called “ Vegan Outreach”. You can learn more about them, what they do, and how you can help in your community to raise awareness at… http://www.veganoutreach.org/.

I also received an e-mail from “Innocence Atlanta” reaching out for people to sign a petition that fights against children sex trafficking.
Here is their message and their website where you can sign!
http://weurgeyou.com/

“We are a growing movement of 100,000 Georgians. We are petitioning our state lawmakers to end the sexual exploitation of Georgias children. We represent every walk of life, race, religion and political party from throughout Georgia. Our singular focus is the protection of our children.

With 100,000 Georgians SIGNING THIS PETITION, we stand up for those without a strong voice - children exploited by adults for sexual purposes. These children are the victims of criminal sexual exploitation, a form of child abuse.

Through coercion, abuse and imprisonment, hundreds of under aged girls are sexually exploited in Georgia each month on the streets, through escort services and on the internet.

We know strip clubs are a magnet, increasing the prevalence of child sex for sale in a community.

By signing this petition, we urge Georgia's lawmakers to hold the adult entertainment industry accountable by passing a $5 per patron surcharge on those who frequent adult entertainment establishments to help children trafficked for sex in the surrounding community.”


Thanks so much for your strength to be loving and kind.

Hal

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Hey Y'all!

So the economy is crap now? right. I mean who isn't feelin it? If you aren't then e-mail me. I will give you my number and you can take me out ! So I was looking at poor vegan forums , and I was like HELL! those recipes are NOT CHEAP! So a long with feeling super poor , I decided to start a Coal Miner's Vegan Blog ,with recipe's and ways to get by being vegan and be well...poor. So whether you are a vegan student living off fast food ( yuckers) or a meat eating mom (yuckers) wanting to cook for eight , I will try my best to provide very cheap YUMMY recipe's for you and for you to share :) I will try to provide pictures of the recipe's, but if I don't its cause I ate it already so don't blame me...this stuff is good.

What I ate Tonight....
"You say Tomato, I say Red Pepper, we can still be freinds..."
What you need: ( give or take if you can't afford a certain measurement)
i think (like) whatever one can is, is a good measurement. haha
3 Potatoes
3-cups Black Eyed Peas ( canned, fresh, frozen whatevs cheap)
3 - cups Corn ( not on the kob silly!)
1/2 bag of fake ground beef ( there is a billion brands ) morningstar* is good, but watch out! some of their products are NOT VEGAN!
and one box of VEGAN tomato and red pepper soup.
YOU MUST HAVE these..
salt
pepper
ms. dash ( garlic and herb i think kroger has a knock off thats cheaper but it aint as good)
red pepper
little garlic ! you can use the spice if its cheaper.
YOU NEED SPICES IF YOU ARE VEGAN because stuff just aint is good without it.

boil your potatoes until soft, slice.
boil your veggies seperately ( i put a little of my fav. steak sauce in the boiling water, has the same effect kinda as pig fat for the meat folks.)
take a fryin pan and cook your f(m)eat as directed with a BIT of italian dressing.
put your soup in a separate big pot...combine with all your ingredients,
put enough salt and pepper that makes you comfortable , i am a salt freak...haha
sprinkle a good coat of the herbs and spices. and a pinch of red pepper.
the potatoes may take a second but this meal minus the taters should take seriously 10 minutes.
If it seems thick with so much stuff in it ...DEAL its yummy with chunky goodies.
If you want it more soup like, use your brain, put less veggies , or buy more soup...if your RICH!
haha just kidding, sorry all of it is eaten...so no pics, but just to let you know this should make enough for three people, or one person can have great LEFTOVERS FOR WORK THE NEXT DAY! yay!
I hope you guys enjoy, bother me with questions, and I will write again soon.


Hal

p.s. political, social, environmental issues will also be present in this blog. I can not help myself :)