So the economy is crap now? right. I mean who isn't feelin it? If you aren't then e-mail me. I will give you my number and you can take me out ! So I was looking at poor vegan forums , and I was like HELL! those recipes are NOT CHEAP! So a long with feeling super poor , I decided to start a Coal Miner's Vegan Blog ,with recipe's and ways to get by being vegan and be well...poor. So whether you are a vegan student living off fast food ( yuckers) or a meat eating mom (yuckers) wanting to cook for eight , I will try my best to provide very cheap YUMMY recipe's for you and for you to share :) I will try to provide pictures of the recipe's, but if I don't its cause I ate it already so don't blame me...this stuff is good.
What I ate Tonight....
"You say Tomato, I say Red Pepper, we can still be freinds..."
What you need: ( give or take if you can't afford a certain measurement)
i think (like) whatever one can is, is a good measurement. haha
3 Potatoes
3-cups Black Eyed Peas ( canned, fresh, frozen whatevs cheap)
3 - cups Corn ( not on the kob silly!)
1/2 bag of fake ground beef ( there is a billion brands ) morningstar* is good, but watch out! some of their products are NOT VEGAN!
and one box of VEGAN tomato and red pepper soup.
YOU MUST HAVE these..
salt
pepper
ms. dash ( garlic and herb i think kroger has a knock off thats cheaper but it aint as good)
red pepper
little garlic ! you can use the spice if its cheaper.
YOU NEED SPICES IF YOU ARE VEGAN because stuff just aint is good without it.
boil your potatoes until soft, slice.
boil your veggies seperately ( i put a little of my fav. steak sauce in the boiling water, has the same effect kinda as pig fat for the meat folks.)
take a fryin pan and cook your f(m)eat as directed with a BIT of italian dressing.
put your soup in a separate big pot...combine with all your ingredients,
put enough salt and pepper that makes you comfortable , i am a salt freak...haha
sprinkle a good coat of the herbs and spices. and a pinch of red pepper.
the potatoes may take a second but this meal minus the taters should take seriously 10 minutes.
If it seems thick with so much stuff in it ...DEAL its yummy with chunky goodies.
If you want it more soup like, use your brain, put less veggies , or buy more soup...if your RICH!
haha just kidding, sorry all of it is eaten...so no pics, but just to let you know this should make enough for three people, or one person can have great LEFTOVERS FOR WORK THE NEXT DAY! yay!
I hope you guys enjoy, bother me with questions, and I will write again soon.
Hal
p.s. political, social, environmental issues will also be present in this blog. I can not help myself :)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment